Severed Ties.

I finally did it.
I severed it.
I cut it and deleted it.
I escaped it, I left it.
What was present and a potential future, I pushed it into history labeling it ‘the past’.
One last outcry before the end: I love you.

If there was one thing that was certain in our story it was this.
That I LOVED YOU.
Even if we delete everything off of the face of this earth, that shall remain.
This love will echo through the depth of the lonely night and haunt the rest of your days. It will fester and grow and spread into your very cells and take root inside that heart of yours. It will grow ever so slowly and so undeniably it will eventually take over and rip you into shreds – just like me.

I will walk away now knowing what lies ahead for you.
I will focus on breathing to cleanse this unforgivable pain.
I shall conquer it and learn to live again – even if living without love again.
Can’t say I will be stronger, can’t say I will grow from it, all I can say is that I will try to learn to live again without choking on the unbearable truth.

I don’t forgive now.
I won’t.
I DO NOT forgive.

Instead I sever you.
I cut you and delete you.
I escape you, I leave you.
You were my present and my potential future,
I push you into history labeling you, ‘the past’.
One last outcry before the end:
I love you.

Leave a comment